A winter walk

Early in the New Year I travelled south. I had to go home, Essex is still my home even after 25 years here in the North East,  and on my way back I called to see an old friend who lives in Suffolk. It was a Sunday and Rosie wanted to show me a favourite place of hers.

It is a National Trust property at Lode, Cambridgeshire – a Jacobean-style house with gardens and a working watermill. Anglesey Abbey has some wonderful gardens which, I discovered, are very popular for Sunday afternoon walks.

I had been taken to see the Winter Garden which is, I was told, was a glorious sight during the cold winter months when colour is sparse elsewhere in the garden.

The garden is full of unusual plants specially selected for winter display and the garden is set out with a meandering path that allows new surprises on every bend. I have tried to photograph some of those that caught my eye.  I have also included some of the exotic statuary that is on display and a snapshot of the buildings.

I thoroughly enjoyed the walk and thought this image gallery might be the way to let you all share in some of the surprising views I was treated to during my afternoon.

It was very early January, the sky was overcast and there was not a lot of light. I could have spent a lot longer at many features but at this time of year the light fades rapidly so I hope the pictures convey some of the colour that delighted in this surprising garden.

4 thoughts on “A winter walk

Comments appreciated

